Making Osso Buco Tonight

My kind of slow cooked dish is Osso Buco. Long before this peasant dish appeared on restaurant menus, my Nonna made us osso buco. I can remember being quite happy to get the marrow from my sister’s cast off bone (being younger she went through a bones are yucky stage). Our osso buco was almost always made with beef (veal far to precious for a family of 8). I actually prefer the firmer texture of beef (not that veal isn’t yummy, nor do I have any qualms about eating baby animals).

Tonight it’s the perfect meal as I have a late afternoon conference call and while I’m working I will enjoy the comforting aroma and imagine my Nonna in the kitchen.

This entry was posted in food, Italian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

